Posted on December 01, 2019

Qatar Museums (QM) hosted the opening ceremony of “Where Cultures Meet: A Photographic Encounter Between Qatar and India” as part of its annual Year of Culture programme. The exhibition opened at Katara Cultural Village and will be on show until the 31st of December in Gallery 18.

As part of Qatar-India 2019, two Qatari photographers – Hamad Al Shamari and Aisha Al Sadah – travelled to the Himalayan Region of Ladakh, India for two weeks. The aim was to create an inspiring portfolio that will help foster mutual understanding and cultural relations between the two countries. Alongside it, two Qatar-based Indian photographers – Ajeesh Puthiyadath and Salim Abdulla – were selected as part of an open call to participate in the exhibition.

The exhibition presents common themes like architecture, landscape, portraits and street life both in Ladakh – a remote land tucked in the valleys among barren mountains and where communities known for their tolerant and generous manner live in peace – and in Doha, a bustling metropolis made up of century-old markets and futuristic buildings that line its waterfront. Commenting on the exhibition, Aisha Al Attiya, Head of Years of Culture at QM said: “The annual photography exhibition is an important milestone in the Years of Culture programme. It promotes an appreciation for our similarities with partner countries and celebrates the differences between our two cultures and perspectives. We hope that the trip to Ladakh will continue to inspire Hamad Al Shamari and Aisha Al Sadah for many years to come.”

Under the leadership of its Chairperson Her Excellency Sheikha Al Mayassa bint Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani, QM developed the “Year of Culture” initiative — an annual international cultural exchange programme designed to deepen understanding between nations and their people. Though the formal programming lasts only one year, the initiative often sparks long-lasting collaboration.

Previous years of culture include: Qatar Japan 2012, Qatar UK 2013, Qatar Brazil 2014, Qatar Turkey 2015, Qatar China 2016, Qatar Germany 2017 and Qatar Russia 2018.